G33K-TRICKS - Your source to Tips and Tricks

Monday, March 20, 2017

Difference between Enterprise Wipe, Device Wipe and Enterprise Reset in MDM Applications like AirWatch




Differences between Enterprise Wipe, Device Wipe and Enterprise Reset

You might have heard these Terms while using an MDM application like VmWare AirWatch.
What does these applications do: They actually provide Mobile Device Management (MDM) service i.e they can manage millions of devices from one place. They can install Customer required applications,  files to the device without any intervention required from the device user.
So essentially when a device is enrolled to such service like VmWare AirWatch, it allows the MDM service to access limited area of a phone. [ These services usually dont have any access to the user phonebook , users messages, phonecalls or any personal information. (Moreover, that would be against the law) ] . Once enrolled, a Corporate/company/Organisation can send Enterprise related data to the devices. The data or file , applications would be Enterprise Data and does not belong to user.
And if a employee leaves the Organisation, Organisation has all the rights to delete Enterprise Data and set the device free for user if the device/phone is BYOD(Bring Your Own Device). In this case, The admin of MDM service provider would initiate Enterprise Wipe command.Thus,

Enterprise Wipe: An enterprise wipe unenrolls the device from MDM service and strips off all enterprise content, including email accounts, VPN settings, Wi-Fi profiles, secure content, and enterprise applications. In this case, Device does not reboot once Enterprise Wipe is completed. In short, it deletes or removes selective data pwned by company without deleting everything or deleting user data.


Enterprise Reset enables you to reset a device similar to an enterprise wipe, but with one important difference. Applications,Profiles and files/actions which are set to persist on a device are not removed and automatically get reinstalled on a device following the first reboot after an enterprise reset. Device gets automatically re-enrolled as it was earlier. Its available only on Zebra and Motorola, Honeywell Rugged devices. Consumer devices like Samsung, LG does not usually support this feature.

In Short, Enterprise reset will factory reset your device but will persist the MDM enrollment.


Device Wipe 

A Device Wipe reboots the device and removes all data (
 includes all personal user information ), email, profiles and MDM capabilities and the phone returns to a factory default state. Its same as that of doing a Factory Reset to your phone from Settings > Personal > Factory Reset



Please note, device does not actually means a phone. Here a Device can be a Android Phone, iPhone, Mac systems, Windows systems, Rugged devices.

Thursday, March 9, 2017

[SOLVED] WIFI not working after replacing /editing /modifying the wpa_supplicant.conf file



How to solve WIFI not working if WPA_supplicant.conf is modified or changed.

I ran into the problem one day when I was just playing around my Android phone's wpa_supplicant.conf file.
I happily rooted my phone and went to /data/misc/wifi folder and edited the file using root explorer and saved it. Till this point it was all looking so easy. I rebooted my phone and was surprised.
My Wifi was not switching On at all after replacing the wpa_supplicant.conf file.
Tried many things but did not solve the issue. Was thinking to factory reset my phone.
Somehow I found the solution to WIFI not working.

The reason was, when we edit the wpa_supplicant.conf file while saving the ownership to file changes as we will be editing the file as a root.

You can see from the screenshot, the ownername and ownergroup are changed to "root" instead they should be "wifi"

The solution to wifi not working is,
$ adb root
$ adb -d shell

# cd /data/misc/wifi
# chown system.wifi wpa_supplicant.conf
# reboot


Hope you find this useful.


Check Out the Latest Posts

Recent Posts Widget